In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

The minds of humans have always remained curious by nature, whether it is because of their foraging nature or due to their need to find a purpose or a sense of fulfillment is up for debate. However, what is not up for debate is that they deserve recognition for developing their interests, which as the prompt suggests would be "impossible" without the existence of already present achievements in that field. The following three reasons dictate why the premise discussed in the prompt should not be considered completely true.

To begin with, all existing well-established fields of today were once nascent, and therefore it wasn't possible for them to already have the glamour of accomplishments to attract novices towards it. For example, the use of artificial intelligence in healthcare is a vast field with multiple accomplishments. However initially, it wasn't the accomplishments that got people interested in it, but rather the impact that it had in making the world a better place that got people interested in it. Even if there weren't as many scholarships and funds for the research and betterment of current technology, there would still be scholars who would be interested in pursuing the field because of its outcome.

Further, for someone to be able to contribute something significant towards which they are working, they must be highly motivated and dedicated towards the cause. Often it is observed that people have various reasons for as to why they are committed to a cause and not just because of the precedence in that field. Consider an example of a child, who enjoys painting as a hobby. However, as she grows up, she will be more likely to pursue art as a viable career option because she has been exposed to art from a young age. Granted she might idolize certain artists and/or their work, however, it will be because she was already curious about art and therefore took up an interest in its history and not the other way around. Thus, it will be appropriate to say that a person's contributions stem from their passion, which is in turn derived from their experiences.

Now, some might argue that for people to “grow into” fields, they require a nudge in the right direction which is provided by the significant past achievements. But, let us not forget the fact that all the well-established fields of today, were once fledgling, and therefore required external factors other than "past significant achievements" to encourage newcomers into pursuing them. For instance, the discovery of fire undisputedly remains the most useful achievement in the history of mankind. However, it wasn't the significant achievements that led to such a huge contribution, but simple curiosity and need of the hour that lead towards it. And thus, it is not the feathers in the cap of an industry that attracts newcomers towards it, but the potential of that industry to be explored and utilized.