The following appeared in a newsletter offering advice to investors.

"Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat products abound in many food stores. Since many of the food products currently marketed by Old Dairy Industries are high in fat and cholesterol, the company's sales are likely to diminish greatly and company profits will no doubt decrease. We therefore advise Old Dairy stockholders to sell their shares, and other investors not to purchase stock in this company."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

In the newsletter, the author avers that because a mojority of respondents in a survey indicated that they would prefer low-fat products, stakeholders must abandon their stocks in Old Dairy industry and should not invest any more in it. However, before heeding to the author's advice, three major questions must be answered, to check the validity of the advice.

First, how was the survey conducted and who participated in it? It is possible that a majority of respondents who were a part of the survey were already on a low fat and low cholestrol diet, maybe due to health related issues, or were prescribed a special diest by a doctor due to various reasons. If people were already on a low fat diet, they would prefer low fat products, however, there are people who need to forage high fat products due to some deficiency. If this is true, and indeed the respondents of the survey were biased, the cogency of the author's argument is rendered weakened.

Second, will Old Dairy Industries come up with new product line to be inclusive of the respondents dietary needs? Since the company now knows that people prefer food with low fat and cholestrol, the company is more likely to come up with alternative products that gives the people what they want. Since these products will specifically target the needs of people who require a low fat and cholestrol products, they might even become more profitable as compared to other products that the company might have launched in the past. If this would be the case, the case made by the author does not hold any water, and therefore investors should not follow this advice.

Finally, will people actually act on their desire of consuming low fat and cholestrol foods? The survey clearly mentions that the respondents indicated a desire to consume low fat and cholestrol products, however there is a chance that this is just a desire and not something upon which people will act on. Perhaps, they would like to reduce their intake, but wouldn't entirely give it up as assumed by the author. Therefore, the pillar upon which the author based his advice is significantly weakened. In conclusion, it is possible that Old Dairy Industries might not lose its market value completely. But additional evidence is required, especially the answers to the questions posed above to be able to say with certainty whether investors should abandon there shares in the company or not.