A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Whether a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college could be weighed in many aspects. However, the argument is based on generalization. The statement simply assumes that all students have the will or right condition to study in college, but in reality, some of them cannot even afford the tuition fees charged by colleges.

Admittedly, the speaker's claim might appear to have considerable merit. When requiring all of the students to study the same curriculum before attending college, it can be assured that students will at least require basic knowledge, thus making college education more balanced and fair. However, when speaking of "students", the following comes to mind: students having the condition to receive further education in college, students who need to enter the workforce immediately after high school due to poor family financial situation. Therefore, in order to determine whether a national curriculum is necessary, we have to first examine the different sorts of students.

It is needed to take both types of students into account, and we will find the statement problematic. Consider the underprivileged students, who cannot afford the high expenses charged by colleges, it is rather important for them to require some professional knowledge as well as enough experiences to have better performances at work. If they are forced to study the same curriculum with other students, then they can only choose those relatively basic jobs. So, in order to help those underprivileged students, some alternatives of this argument should be proposed.

Moreover, the argument also fails to consider that every student has different interests they want to pursue. If all of the students are forced to study the same curriculum, then they might get bored and lose enthusiasm while studying. Studying requires motivation, if students can choose what they would like to learn, then they will be more satisfied and has less resistance while learning,

In conclusion, the claim is not as persuasive as it stands. Although studying the same national curriculum can assure equality when students attend college, not all of the students can benifit from it since they have no chance in attending college. Also, it is better for students to choose some subjects appealing to them to remain passion in studying.