The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Super Screen Movie Production Company recommends to allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising. Their line of reasoning is that one report indicating that fewer people attended to their movies, but the percentage of positive reviews have risen. They assumed that this is due to the public's lack of awareness of the good quality movies. However, there are some questions needed to be answered in order to make the reccomendation be more reasonable.

First of all, the Super Screen Movie Production Company claimed that according to the report, fewer people have attended the movies. It seems quite plausible at first, but with further inspection, we will find that they did not provide the accurate number of decrease of the audience. Maybe the decrease was merely two percent, and this can't even be the great reason to reach the public through advertising.

Even if the decrease in people attending the movies is quite severe, we cannot be sure that whether there are other factors that cause the decrease. What if during last year, there are way more less movies being publised? This can surely make the number of audiences to decrease. Thus, to make the recommendation more convinving, the production company has to provide evidence of the number of people watching their movies in each year.

Lastly, again, the production company fails to prove that to what extent had the positive reviews increased. They hastily claimed that the percentage of the positive rewiews had increased, but they did not give us the specific number of the increasing percentage. And even the percentage had increased, if the overall number of the audience is a small number, then any increase will seem minor. Thus, giving more details about the increasing percentage of positive reviews as well as the overall number of the audience can surely make the recommendation more reasonable.

In sum, in order to evaluate the validity of the recommendation, the following questions should be answered: the percentage of the statistics as well as the number of movies and audience each year. By providing these information can surely make their recommendation more reasonable.