Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As technology is evolving, the dependence of people on electronic devices has increased at an unprecedented rate. Especially, when it comes to the topic of whether movies and television have negative effects on the behaviors of young people, it is always debatable. After deeply deliberating over such an issue, I agree with the statement noted in the question due to my personal experiences and observation of life.

First of all, violence happening in movies and television programs can cause children to imitate those behaviors. It may promote children to do such actions because they might unconsciously think that everything in the movie is right. Besides, since most of the parents nowadays are busier, they will not have enough time to company and educate their children that violence should not happen in reality.

Secondly, children' s imagination will have the chance to be limited by those movies and programs. It is widely believed that reading books can help develop children' s imaginations better. For instance, when a child is reading a fiction novel, then the characters in the book can be pictured in any kind of appearance. However, on the contrary, if the novel is adapted to a movie, then kids will only have the impression of how the characters looked like in the movie, which will cause a lack of imagination.

Last but not least, some restricted rated movies and programs can be shown on television or on the internet, which usually has violent or horror scenes. Unfortunately, if children accidentally see those scenes, then they might be shocked or startled, which can cause harmful consequences such as having nightmares. Due to the widespread of the internet and television, this issue cannot easily be solved by their parents since it is so easy to obtain.

All in all, given the reasons above, the disadvantages of children watching movies and television programs outweigh the advantages. That is not to say that other opinions are completely out of merits. Nevertheless, I believe my points of view are fully capable of firmly supporting my position.