A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Literacy is no more a rare commodity to boast about and with every passing year, we see an ever increasing number of students worldwide. This makes education a very crucial service to maintain and ideally, improve upon, for the governments. In the same direction, a school of thought believes that the curricula and the syllabi must maintain nationwide uniformity. As ideal as it may sound, I do not believe it will ever be practically possible and fruitful. My opinion shall be elaborated in the forthcoming paragraphs.

At a first glance, this recommendation sounds very convincing because it promotes equality. Implementing this idea will mean that, no matter what corner of the nation one hails from, no matter what financial background one comes from, the students should be able to have a certain set of skills and knowledge, which would make it easy for the future opportunities to present themselves to the candidates, as every candidate could then be judged and gauged at an equal level, against each other. Today, we see vast differences in the aptitudes of the students from state board, central board and international board education schools, because all these education boards follow mutually different syllabi. These differences would cease to exist, if the provided recommendation is properly executed.

However, when we probe a little further, we realize that it is not practically possible to implement this suggestion. Every country is basically an intricate social network, that has developed over past decades, if not centuries, and they consist of families of various financial backgrounds. Uniformity in education would bring children of all these families together to study. As fair as it may sound, such a situation is most definitely bound to hit several political roadblocks, as the richer and more powerful families may not like their children to interact with wards of backward or not so well-to-do families.

Another obstacle will be the sheer monumental nature of the implementation. This would call for a revision of thousands of schools and providing them with tens of thousands of teachers with equal capabilities. Such resources may not be readily available to all countries and it would call for vast training camps for potential teachers. Also, to keep up with time, schools might need to be equipped with modern devices like projectors and screens, which will again cost a big dent on the nation's wallet.

The next big argument against the idea is that students who choose to follow different education in their college must have respective knowledge base as a pre-requisite. If all the students will learn the same thing, they might be forced to again learn similar things in college, against their will. As an instance, a student who aspires to be a music artist needs not learn what a student aspiring to be an economist needs to. Education that a future engineer must receive has to be very different from a student who wants to be a professional athlete. Today's education is shaped in a manner, where students can identify their future goals and then choose a path which should lead them to their goal. Making everything same for all students will take away this vital feature and will cripple the students from so many perspectives.

To sum it up, I believe that the recommendation is formed on a very loose ground as its foundation. It may sound promising, but upon deeper analysis, it starts to significantly weaken and also appears to be practically challenged.