The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The presented argument comes from the desk of the business manager of a television station, suggesting that late-night news should feature more local and weather news, than national news. The argument appears to be rather prematurely formed than well calculated for several reasons, some of which shall be elaborated below.

Firstly, most citizens prefer weather and local news in the morning, before leaving their homes for work, and peripheral and national news in the evening, when they return home. Not everyone must be conforming to this norm, but basic trends and a common human tendency suggests that local and weather news will always be more appreciated in the beginning of the day, as people can plan their day according to the news reports to avoid possible hurdles and to stay safe. The same cannot be done if such news is received late in the night.

Secondly, the business manager mentions loss in revenue because of the cancellation of advertising contracts, however the monetary loss has not been quantified at all. The data regarding the number, nature and quality of the companies advertising in the late-night show has not been clarified and hence, it becomes challenging to gauge the loss. On the top of that, since late-night shows have comparatively smaller audience, the former companies may have withdrawn because they did not see a worthy return from the advertisements. The reason specified for contract cancellations may not be as accurate or urgent as portrayed.

Furthermore, it must be noticed that the section of telecast under scrutiny here, is the late-night show. According to several surveys and basic observation, this is when news channels have very less viewewship, regardless of the content and the kind of news telecasted. The manager mentions about complaints, but the number of complaints and degree of seriousness in these objections have not been mentioned. This also fails to guarantee or even estimate the gains, if the complaints are resolved by telecasting more local and weather news late in the night.

As can be seen, the memorandum appears to suggest actions out of panic or desperation, and not after thorough data analysis. The recommendation might be worth a second consideration if the business manager succeeds to come up with numbers and statistics to confirm his concern and the reasons of it. As of now, the argument does not seem to hold much water.