The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Recent findings have happened to convince the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock Inc. that they should discontinue use of their patented Endure manufacturing process to enjoy more profits. Such a conclusion is based on several studies and public surveys. However, a few loopholes seem to be evident in the approach, which shall be presented and discussed below.

The first piece of data put forth to support the conclusion shows how often an average customer of this firm purchases new pair of socks. It is mentioned to be 3 months here and the vice president apparently deduces that the socks are lasting only 3 months, which may actually be a very flawed deduction. To begin with, it is merely an average value which may be encompassing a wide range of customers. For an instance, the company may have hardcore hikers or mountain climbers for customers who purchase pairs of socks every month, as a precautionary measure for their expeditions, and the company may also have homemakers as customers who buy their socks only annually, or once in 2 years. The average value does not have the capability to conclude upon anything substantial and gauging the durability of the product on this basis is only premature, at best.

The next piece of evidence presented is the result of a public survey from the north-eastern states of the USA, which suggests that people most appreciate the aesthetics and the range of colour variants provided by Dura-Sock Inc., for their products. Several behavioural studies suggest that humans take the most in, with their eyes. Just because their customers appreciate the appearance of the socks the most, does not mean that they would appreciate losing the attribute of durability. On the top of this, the quality of being durable is always one of the most subtle and underrated ones, when asked a customer out of the blue. However, durability creates a sense of trust and makes the consumers come back, without them realising. People do not seem to complain about the sock being durable, while they praise the aesthetics. To add on the same note, the survey features only a few states which are believed to be Dura-Sock’s strong market. This cannot ensure that the company does not have satisfied customers elsewhere. On the contrary, it displays the vice president’s narrow-minded ideology of further satisfying a certain bunch of already consolidated consumers, instead of widening the firm’s reach and expanding their customer base.

Lastly, it must be noticed that the Endure manufacturing process is patented by Dura-Sock Inc., which suggests that it has probably been developed in-house and is unique to the firm, since a long time. This also suggests that this particular manufacturing process is now probably synonymous to Dura-Sock Inc. and has become part of the company’s heritage and as they say, the DNA. Losing such an integral feature may cause their customer base to lose faith in the company and such a step might see the citizens switching their attention to other options while buying socks. This scenario directly destroys the very purpose of the vice president’s suggested step of parting ways with their own Endure manufacturing process.

As the observations suggest, the recommendation made in the argument appears to very monotonous, premature and naïve, at times. It is inevitable for the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock Inc. to come up with significant pieces of data and deeper analysis, if he/she really wants the company to part ways with one of its home-grown methodologies.