Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

History is evident that time and time again, the world has been blessed with several prodigies who went on to lay global impact in their corresponding fields. Identifying and nurturing such rare talents is a task in itself and some reckon that society should make training available to such children at an early age. I agree with the suggested approach but only partially, since I believe that the case has more to it than what meets the eye.

When specially talented and gifted children take birth, they unfortunately do not come with birth marks that would indicate their talent. Therefore, it becomes the primary task of the parents, teachers and the society as a whole to identify such children and give them the proper environment so that they can sharpen their skills. Such programs promise to do justice to the special children and it will also be time saving, because the sooner these kids develop, the sooner can they show their identity to the world. It can be particularly crucial in performance sports, as these fields can have a retirement age as young as late thirties or early forties. European Football can be taken as a very effective instance here. Reputed clubs worldwide recruit scouts to locate naturally talented kids and they offer academy admissions to kids as young as only 3 years old. This makes it possible for such children to grow and feature in the senior team in their teens. Legends like Messi and Ronaldo have had a similar childhood and we all know how good they are.

However, when such classified attention is given to some, the social pressure racks up on their young shoulders. Parents and elders start expecting highly and the pressure to perform can potentially take a mental toll on such children. Messi and Ronaldo may be good examples but it is difficult to believe that they would not have had stiff competitors when they were young. But do we know many of such rivals they had? Not really, and that is because those rivals probably crumbled under the rising societal ambitions unfortunately and their talent stayed dormant and malnutritioned somewhere within them. Therefore, even when the mentioned program sounds fair and reasonable, the program should be carefully paced to accommodate the selected candidates. Such a program should not be too hardcore initially and ideally, it should be adaptive, because similarly talented children can very possibly grow to be very differently talented adults. Such programs should also involve psychiatrists and medical personnel to properly observe their behavioural traits and decisions should be taken accordingly.

The major drawback of the mentioned action is the possible seclusion of the talented children from the societies. Childhood is a phase of life that everyone should be able to fondly look back at. When we initiate rigorous training regime on prodigies, we are essentially taking away the days from them, which they are supposed to look back at and expect a smile on their face, when they grow up. Moreover, by giving them special attention, we might end up making other children and their parents feel inferior, which by no means, is a commensurate scenario. World has had plenty individuals who were clueless in their childhood and treated as failures or outcasts in their childhood, but eventually went on to do well in their respective careers. Adrian Newey, a motorsport engineer, who worked most of his adult life at Red Bull Racing Team, competing in Formula 1, was seen as a dull and unpromising candidate by his school teachers, but he went on to be recognised as one of the most innovative design engineers in his field. Had he been excluded from some sort of special program in his childhood and got demotivated, who knows if he would have gone on to achieve the greatness as he did?

To conclude, I believe the aforementioned idea of giving special attention to special children is definitely bright, but such campaigns must be executed with plans of dynamic nature and it also should not inspire negligence towards other children, because every child is special in their own way.