Studying the English language in an English-speaking country is the best but not the only way to learn language.

Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Language is one of the key elements that makes us unique and intelligent. A vast number of languages exist worldwide, but English has come to be one of the most spoken languages, if not the most. When it comes to learning the same, people believe it is best done when in an English-speaking country, while others believe it is not the only way to be a fluent English speaker. I agree with the latter and I shall express my views further.

Technology has dwarved the globe and made mankind a giant, as globalization has invaded almost everywhere. Anyone can learn anything from anywhere in the whole world. Learning a language is no exception. One can easily use internet and find courses, in the form of digital books and videos, in order to learn any language. Nowadays, there are websites, applications, online communities and so many other digital tools, that are available for free to anyone who has access to internet and a motivation to learn a language. English being one of the most popular international languages only adds to the fire. On the top of this, English is so useful and widely spoken, that non-English-speaking countries also have institutes that offer the language for learning. Hence, if one wants to learn it, no matter where they are, chances are that they will find local company to get on the same bandwagon.

However, the other side of the debate is extremely valid too. The environment and ambience that one is bound to get in an English-speaking country will be incomparably superior, and may result in better fluency and more confidence, in a short period of time. But, it may not be possible for everyone to be in an English-speaking country, or one may not be ready to be in one and leave their native country. It is only fair and respectful to make the language equally accessible to everyone, no matter where they are. Being born in a non-English-speaking country is never under one's control but learning what they want to, definitely is.

To conclude, I would say that it is impossible to discard the fact that one would speak better English while staying in an English-speaking country, but one who does not, can still learn it to a very competent and fluent level.