The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position

It is the elders' and teachers' unwritten duty to nurture and bring the young generation up in a manner that they can be ready to assume pioneering responsibilities in their desired disciplines. Many paths may lead to this final goal but several suggest the path that focuses on inculcating the values of cooperation, while barring that of competitiveness. I partially agree with the full statement.

Firstly, it is rightly said that "Teamwork makes the dreams work", but the realisation of this statement is possible only when all the individuals in a team are able to work in a cohesive manner. Cohesion requires numerous qualities such as compromising, tolerating, adapting, leading and so many more. All these, I believe, fall under a single umbrella that can be labelled as "the sense of cooperation". We have come far enough to force individuals to dig deep to find possible room for improvement, which can be more monumental than it may appear at a first glance; something that can be achieved collectively, most of the times. The youth must learn how to coordinate and communicate, in order to accomodate and learn different ideologies that may spark out-of-the-box thinking ability in themselves. The importance of being a valuable team player can never be overstated, as everyone is several times stronger, when united. However, it is never easy to possess this skill and very few are born with the required patience. Therefore, I inarguably side with the first half of the statement presented here, as the lack of cooperative nature has the potential to seriously shun one's future goals and possible success.

However, the second half of the statement does not hold as much weight as the first half, for me. While we talk about preparing the youth for the future of the world, we must realise that we are raising a wide number of candidates for a handful of designations. In such a situation, competition is inevitable and the mantra of "Survival of the Fittest" plays a defining role. Unfortuantely, having a sense of competition has been often viewed as a feisty trait that is portrayed to disregard the surroundings for own good. I refrain from this thought and I would love to draw attention towards the idea of having a healthy rivalry. History is evident that often, competition has been the force that drove individuals to unexplainable heights and resulted in outstanding achievements for the personnel and the society, alike. We can never forget the post-World War 2 space race between USSR and the USA. Both equipotent nations went on to achieve notable milestones, pioneering and inspitring generations of scientists. Today, the field of space research stays as a challenging and fascinating profession, that employs so many exquisitely skilled people, improving their lifestyle and societal standards.

The important detail to note in the aforementioned example is that single individuals from the presented nations did not compete. Rather well-structured and defined organisations went against each other and gathered accolades. The individuals in these organisations had to have the sense of cooperation to function like a well-oiled machine, so that they can collectively compete with their rivals. The scientists had to have a competitive nature as well to address the urgency of the setting and it all made things more challenging and interesting. These conclusions can clearly not be limited to the presented situation. In fact, scenarios of this nature are timeless and omnipresent, but have different scales of urgency. Every modern day company requires its workforce to effectively communicate and succeed against a certain competing firm that also consists of a similar but maybe differently executed hierarchy of workers. To survive and thrive, it is pivotal to be a complete individual or it would not take long for others to trample us and also take adavantage of us on their way.

To conclude, I would like to underline that if we are to prepare the youth for the decisive and responsible jobs mentioned here, we must have a dynamic and hollistic approach towards the task. We cannot afford to focus on sharpening a certain trait, while ignoring the other. If it were that easy and straightforward, this topic would not have been one of the important subjects of discussion.