The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company has come to a conclusion of boosting their marketing strategies financially after having a look at the past year's movie reviews and viewership. Unfortuantely, the drawn conclusions are apparently premature and some of the weakening reasons will be elaborated.

Firstly, we do not have any idea of how old the movie production company is. In entertainment industry, it is inevitable for such bodies to gain and maintain trust in the public to attract viewership. However, the same factor does not have a crucial role to play while getting their movies reviewed, because the reviewers are expected to give their unbiased feedback, regardless of details external to the film. Maybe the company attracted more viewers out of curiosity initially but when the inquisitiveness was sated, the excitement subdued even when the quality of the movies rose.

Secondly, it is very regularly observed that reviewers and general public feedback rarely coincide. A panel of reviewers consists of individuals who are able to judge the movies from various perspectives, while the people mostly seek entertainment. A movie may have a developed plot and sophisticated actors but at the same time, it may be flagged lacklustered by the general public because of the lack of thrill and entertainment. This, in no way signifies that people had a hard time to know about the movie, rather they did not simply find the movie worth their money and held back from recommending it to others, despite its quality which needed a skilled set of eyes.

Moreover, no numbers have been presented to support the advertising director's theory. It may have happened that viewership marginally decreased while the movie reviewers showed a drastically improved response. On the top of this, no analysis of the market competition has been presented here. It may have happened that the quality of films produced by the mentioned company notably improved, but just because other such companies also underwent similar improvements, they ended up attracting interest to their movies, resulting in decrease of viewership for Super Screen.

One last argument that can be drawn to challenge the advertising director's words here, is that there may have been unforeseen and unfortunate circumstances, due to which the people could not reach the multiplexes to spend their money. Take the currently ongoing global pandemic as an example. Movie theatres are closed and companies are forced to release their movies digitally which results in unreliable viewership tally and very underwhelming monetary gains. However, such a situation is not really an obstacle for the movie reviewers to rate films. Movies would still get a deserving review, but a considerably low box office figures to show, even after spreading the word online.

Thus, it can be concluded that as effective as the advertising director's prospective step may initially sound, it happens to crumble on its own foundation upon deeper analysis. A second consideration of the idea might sound sensible, given that there would be presence of enough data and evidence to answer the above questions.