People should undertake risky action only after they have carefully considered its consequences.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Everyone is bound to face situations where they must make certain decisions, some important, some casual, some safe and straightforward, while some risky. I believe that any and every decision or action we take should be a calculated one and therefore, I strongly agree with the statement. I shall elaborate on the legible reasons to support my opinion.

Every decision has its own set of consequences and when we end up being in an adverse situation after we take a certain action, then the feeling of regret follows. Most risky actions are worth consideration only because they have a potential to return high rewards. However, most of the times, it also comes with a high loss if the action fails to yield a favourable outcome. When such actions are hasty, or miscalculated, then they are bound to result in a failure, if not for an occasional fluke or a lucky strike. When the inevitable happens in such cases, a person gets disappointed and in severe cases, one may end up in a life threatening or compromising scenario. Take an example of a stock trader or a businessman. Most of them know where the big money is and most of them know how they may get to it. Yet, the experienced ones always pace their steps to analyse the possible, but unknown adversaries, to take fool-proof actions. Wise men (and women) always consider biding their time before playing their cards.

Furthermore, taking justified actions may mean more than avoiding a crisis. Sometimes, it may also mean not missing out on something better. A feeling of regret not only follows when one makes a bad decision, it also knocks at our door when we realise that we left something on the table that could have easily been ours. When it comes to risky actions, many may also have a hidden and safe or just an overall a better choice, which can also be referred to sometimes, as an escape route. Realising such choices takes composure, deeper analysis and a proper brainstorming. For instance, many people end up shelling out a lot of money in haste and end up being under debt of credit cards, during the sales at the end of the calendar year, only to discover that if they would have waited a little longer, they could have considered buying an updated or modern version of what they bought. With more planning, they could have enjoyed less, but better products, without a debt and a much-appreciated sense of satisfaction.

On the top of this, taking a well-weighted decision shows maturity. Taking an action is easy, but taking a reasonable and fruitful one is what comes with age and experience and that is the reason why people try to consult senior citizens or experienced individuals before taking any expensive step. When it comes to risky actions, the adverse outcomes are always overshadowed by the ever-so-alluring positive ones. But it is a personal responsibility to gauge the situation properly and then take an appropriate action because in many cases, such decisions may also affect multiple people or lives. Then, it becomes pivotal to have someone calm-headed and composed in the group, at the wheel.

Some people might not get the time to think, say in emergency situations, to take a justified decision. But in such cases, I believe it is the situational misfortune to not be able to take some time. Apart from such unfortunate events, one must always think and act, especially in case of risky situations.