A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

prompt states that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. As good as it sounds in terms of stability and making concepts robust, it is as bad strategy. This decision depends on multiple scenarios and current situations. If prompts has those understanding applicable in the scenarios then it is a good idea with a little variety in some of the subjects.

First of all, as the Chinese proverb subjects, it is good to have knowledge in all field but becoming master is having idiosyncratic characteristics. But it is not true in all situations. For hypothetical e.g. the world is going through global warming, and imagine the climate is exacerbating and on the verge of becoming hostile for living beings. In such scenario if you are having subjects that are far from the field linked to help resolve the catastrophic situation is just deviating from the main point. Having subjects for a semester or two makes sense but having the similar subjects throughout the school is not germane to situations.

Secondly, having similar subjects are not adding values in some subjects if pertained over and over. What it means is, for e.g if you are providing history as a subject throughout the school years, hardly makes sense as the history is not going to change - learning it once is better for understanding and learning from it. If the student wants to achieve their career in the History field, they may choose their career path in that field after school. It is a better suggested to have a subject repeated in an interval semesters rather just repeating in every semester, which is apt, because it will allow one to brush up the concepts that may have been forgotten since its first appearance and study. So rather than taking firm decision to allow all subjects repeat throughout the school until they enter college, it is highly recommended to strategize it in a way so that students can take full advantage of school and at the same time explore other concepts of the world as well.

Finally, having constant exposure to similar things/concepts makes concepts robust, but it is filled with the risks of stemming the knowledge of students. Students should have options on their own to select few subjects that they are interested in and may explore more into it as a primary subjects. Rest other subjects could be fixed by the faculty every year/semester which are basic needs, such a math, science, native/global language etc. For e.g. If in a school I had an option to learn about astronomy as a separate subject that derives from Physics, faculty can select Physics as a fixed subject and Astronomy related subject as a elective.

To conclude, it may sound an idea of having similar national curriculum, it is also suggested that it should be versatile or a combination of fixed and elective subjects. Having a stronger base of knowledge is highly acceptable and appreciable but it leads the risk of limiting the knowledge to only those subjects, where students in that age are malleable and easily grasping things, hence they should be exposed to variety of subjects and few fixed subjects which are important to enter in the real world after school. As it is said - with the available resources in a technology savvy world, one may need an ability to understand and idea to know what to look for. To have that to happen one may need to have knowledge in all fields, and when required, depth of particular field can be achieved through passion and intelligence.