Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Prompt suggests that mass media has attenuated the people's ability to provide attention for brief amount of time, rather it has helped them to compensate it with an adept to organize large things based on the priority and importance. It is certain that human are very much balanced species. The skill that we posses are definitely unique than most species. Prompt mentions one of the behavior that human posses, and certainly is true for the issue that is suggested in the prompt.

Firstly, in current world mass media provides copious information than people can imbibe in. In this apparent situation it is not expected of an individual to go through each and every information as it doesnt make sense for an individual. Also human brain has their limits on understanding and taking in the information at one particular time. In recent studies, it is given in that the brain uses its only 11 to 20 percent of its capacity. 11 being the average and 20 being the most rarest case. This study went further to identify how much capacity a person can hold if they were thrown against multiple information in a minutes of time, and based on the results, out of 800 words, an average human is capable to store only 180 words and remember only 50-60 when tried to recall. Certainly this limitation affects the people's focus and attention span time.

Though capacity is not the only factor, it is also depends on the topic, each person has their own frequency of likings. If they hear contents outside their interests they tend to lose the interest and hence results and attention span. They can focus for very less amount of time if the topic is not their genre, on the contrary if the topic is one of their favorites they can go for days with same content and not lose their attention (there are exceptions with the limits). To illustrate, while studying for GRE test, I tend to lose my attention in very much first paragraph of the Reading comprehension, in fact it confuses if I move further, which clearly shows that if topic is not of an interest people tend to lose attention.

Secondly, Human has this skill or processing where if one of the behavior is not being utilized in an appropriate quantity - in this case providing attention - Human are inclined to, unconsciously or consciously, to balance out this one sided behavior. In other words, it compensates in another behavior. To enlighten with an example, if people are, with misfortune, blind or affected with auditory glands, and let's say are not able to see or hear respectively, it is seen in most cases that they are very much skilled with other sense like a blind person is very good with 6th sense or a vibe that feels around him to identify or remember things such as steps, edge of side walk in order avoid mishaps, while deaf people are good at observing thing, such as lips while normal people talk, or their hand gestures or body language in order understand cues for the communication. Similar way when mass media throws bulk of information, they are forced to sort information based on multiple things - interests, importance, priority, urgency etc - and this helps them focus only on the part which matches with their interests and frequency to take in information that are relevant to them.

It is clear that human tend to get bored easily in now a days with any irrelevant or uninteresting things being available to them, but to compensate the attention with sorting out things based on priority is equally important, even if there are less contents as it helps them be organized and if time runs out they may have already been covered important information. But at the same time it is good to have both, an attention span given to each information to get the maximum gist out of them and understand, but based on the priority or importance so that the end results turns out to be beneficial for individual, either in personal skill improvements which can be utilised in any other situation such as at the workplace.

To concluded, human are very clever species for their time, but that also points out that they are very negligent. But with what they have with the information in their bucket they can take out most meaning if they equally train themselves to sort information based on the importance as well as give brief amount of attention to understand it correctly.