A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

In a world where all children learned in the same way, and all teachers taught in the same style, the recommendation that all students should study the same national curriculum until they enter college would be a justified position. However, society is generally inhomogenous, there exist cities with populations including people from every other country in the world. Such diversity cannot be accounted for when students across the country are studying the exact same things in the exact same way.

Expanding on the initial point, teachers undergo rigorous courses to qualify to teach students, they learn different methods of expression and strategies when dealing with student who struggle and those who are gifted. A strict curriculum would limit the extent to which a teacher may be able to inject their own methods into the classroom, and as such forcing them to teach in a way which doesn't suit their personality. This would have the effect of disengaging students, and discouraging the teacher, causing a feedback loop for a deacreased standard of education. Additionally, a curriculum does not look at the circumstance of the students it is aimed at. Only the teacher comes into contact with both the curriculum and the students, and they are able to judge what areas the students struggle with, and those which the excel in. Making a sound judgement call as to whether the students need to expand upon a paticular area, such as reading, or if they require more challenging content, as they might if they were from a well educated family. This room for movement is crucial for helping students to reach their full potential.

Humans are inherintly varied, and in the same way that teachers have different styles of teaching, students also share the quality of variance in their learning styles. Some children are kinestheitc learners while others thrive from simply reading the theory. In order to make the most out of students, they should be pushed and taught in ways which reflect their abilities. Gifted students should be given more challenging topics and workloads, whereas students with less skill should be given the time to develop it at their own rate. Forcing them all to learn the same things in the same way would discourage all the students who are not up to par with their peers, and would give the students who excel a warped view of their own abilities as they have not yet been pushed as much as they might be in a curriculum which is tailored of doing that.

However there is some extent to which the statement is a reasonable recommendation. Teaching students the same curriculum would ensure that they all have had the same opportunities to excel, giving a pair playing field when making university applications. Additionally, there are some basic things which every citizen should be able to do: read, write, know basic mathematics and have a passing knowledge of the basics of science. Coming into contact with these things in adult life is inevitable, and while students may not appreciate why pythagoras's theorem is important, they should be able to do all the operations involved in the application of it. Having a basic understanding of science would prevent unnessesary accidents which could have fatal consequences, such as mixing cleaning fluids or driving at speed in wet weather. However, having these core subjects as being compulsary up to GCSE level does not lend any support to the notion that all subjects should be rigid and compulsary up to university. Students would may not be able to study subjects they are passionate about, and follow paths that deviate from the standard curriculum. Paths such as apprenticships would be possible, and students who want to start their career early by enterning into one such scheme would be neglected by the curriculum which doesn't reflect or allow for their life choices.

A rigid national curriculum does nothing for encouraging diversity of thought, and could have very damaging consequences. The recommendation should only be taken seriously as far as the core subjects go, in the early stages of education. Students should be able to pursue and study the subjects that they wish to, enabling them to make informed decisions for their career. Furthermore, the curriculum should not look to stifle teachers, instead getting the most out of them and in turn, the most out of the population.