An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Engineering a new breed of millet high in vitamin A in order to combat the deficiency in the people is a very intelligent response as millet is already a staple in their diet. However different delivery methods of vitamins will give different results body absorption, so it is imperative that the organisation backs up their claims that this will combat vitamin A deficiency with scientific studies with a test group of people from Tagus, as they will share similar genetic traits to the rest of the country. Additionally this will provide the opportunity to see if the taste is the same as the old millet, as well as texture and flavour. This is important because traditional people without education may be unwilling to adopt the new breed, or be suspicious of the international involvement. Ensuring the taste and texture are the same as the old millet will ensure less resistance to adopting it.

The subsidies paid to the farmers must be equivalent to the increased cost of the millet seed, or they would be unlikely to choose to buy a more expensive crop if they are not health conscious or wealthy, which is likely in an impoverished nation. If the subsidies do not cover the increased cost of the seed, farmers who do buy the crop would have to increase prices, and the people would be unlikely to buy the new crop, opting for the cheaper price of the old millet.

Another important question is the prevalence of vitamin A deficiency in Tagus. Is it an epidemic, or is it a very low ranked concern? Are there enough people effected by the deficiency to cause the government concern, and thus launch a campaign to promote the new type of millet? Introducing an enriched form of millet would be the most convenient option for the government to combat the issue, as opposed to diet changes which would require social changes, not as easily changed by a simple PR campaign.

The statement holds up logically if it is assumed that many people suffer from vitamin A deficiency, and studies have been shown that this new crop combats the deficiency. Furthermore, as millet is a staple, it is important to investigate how much in the diet would be required, and if there are any risks of having a diet too rich in vitamin A, as is the risk with a food staple which is likely eaten daily.