"A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer."

The author states that a common national curriculum should be followed by all the students before get admitted to college. Students are a nation's future and will hold important positions in the industry, politics, etc. and therefore their education is crucial.

The main advantage in studying a common curriculum that I believe is that each and every student will have the same level of content to study and thus can be judged fairly. In India there are various boards like the a state board for the corresponding states, an international board and some others. The substantial difference between these boards is not their curriculum but also their admission fees. So generally the stat board is the cheapest and thus the middle class and lower middle class that constitutes the majority population of the country will opt for the state board. Also the state board has the most basic curriculum as compared to the other boards. So students studying in a state board except for a few will be comparatively less exposed to a students from the other boards.

The main problem arises during the college years as all these students from various boards are supposed to appear for a common entrance test which comprises of problems which are based on the concepts that might not covered properly in state boards as compared to the other boards. So it is quite obvious that the state board students have to put comparatively higher efforts than the others to clear this common test. Although some students might take this extra effort as a challenge some i.e. the majority finds this quite overwhelming. The only thing that stops the state board students from being eligible for the other boards is their economic status. So I find it very unfair that the economic status of child decides his/her curriculum.

Thus, a common national curriculum makes it fair for all the students as everyone is subjected to the same amount of course pressure. Now the idea of a common entrance test for all the students will be justified as compared to the previous case in which students were from different boards.

In conclusion i believe that every student must be subjected to a common national curriculum before they enter college.