A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.
Nation wide common curriculum, means students across the nation have to study same set of
subjects and courses set up by a single committee of education department of the national
government. Such schemes seems very lucrative, all the students studying same thing implies a
good consistency and generalization of education throughout the nation. Irrelevant of from which
part of the country a student is, everyone studies same courses provides an apportunity for everyone
to get on equal stance. This scheme also ensures the generalization of the grades of students across
the nation, which might help during the admission process for the colleges.
Though having many benefits this schemes has some drawback too. This scheme does not consider
the needs of the local education for a student. Local educations include their local language, history
and all the other aspects of the local region a student belongs to. Not including these aspect can
affect the rich diversity of the nation. Inclusion of such courses into the education for a student,
helps the preservation of the regional & traditional significance of the local area. The curriculum
selection also affected by the committee that choses it. Relying onto the decision of the such an
important factor into hands of some committee assigned by the national government, may have
chances of the monoploy and bias among what courses are selected into the curriculum.
In the end, it seems that nationalizing the education curriculum has both benefits and drawbacks. It
would be best if the core courses for the curriculum are designed common at the national level, as
well as the inclusion of some extra local education into the already decided core curriculum should
be done by the local governments. Inclusion of both the centrally selected core courses and some
extra courses decided by the locals, helps to create a curriculum which not only ensures a right
education into the students but also helps to preserve and carry the cultural diversity and historical
legacy of the nation.