A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Schools are considered the temple of knowledge, where students should not be restricted on what they learn. Every student has their own interests, and fixing the curriculum for all will not help in general. Similarly, in a school, students come from all walks of life, hence the same curriculum might be helpful for one and difficult for another. Moreover, in today’s world, competition has increased so much that, students right from their early classes starts preparing for their career and a fixed syllabus can hinder their aspirations.

Firstly, Let us take the example of three students who wants to become a scientist, an athelete and a film director, respectively. Now if the education board were to include chemistry as a mandatory course for students in secondary classes then the course will be helpful for the student who wants to become a scientist. But what about the other two students? Clearly Chemistry won’t help the other two in their career. Perhaps Arts will be useful for film director and health education course will benefit the athelete. Thus it will be much more useful, if students have the choice of selecting the subjects they want to study in their secondary classes.

Second, I will take example of a school situated in the state of Kerala and a school situated in the state of Rajasthan in India. The regional language of Kerala is Malyalam and the regional language of Rajasthan is Hindi. Now consider a scenario where the education board decideds to make sanskrit as mandatory course to promote it based on historical and mythological reasons. Now a student in Rajasthan who’s mother toungue is hindi will have no problem in adjusting to sanskrit as sanskrit is close enough to hindi. Whereas, students in Kerala will have hard time understanding sanskrit as these students are not very well versed with either hindi or sanskrit. Instead introducing malyalam literature will be more useful.

Lastly and most importantly, today the competition has increased a lot. If we were to fix the curriculum then students will have to study both the syllabus and give extra time to prepare for competition. Which will give extra pressure to them and both their regular studies and their preparation will be qualified.

In conclusion, I will say that fixing the curriculum will bring many challenges then solve some. Every student is different pertaining to their interest, background, career. So we should have a flexible curriculum that will help students from all walks of life.