A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

For the development of a country, education of its youth is of utmost importance. Courses and the curriculum followed by the institutions for students' education are the building blocks in determining the unmitigated learning and development. The question here is should the curriculum be made same for all the students nationwide. I believe that it is a good idea that facilitates in meeting the fundamental needs of student. Given below are some points to support my claim.

Firstly, basic knowledge of fundamental subjects like language, science, culture, mathematics is of indispensable. Having a common curriculum will help facilitate in fulfilling the basic needs. Without knowledge of language child might not be able to express his views. Without knowledge of science and mathematics he will not be able to understand basic common ideas of day to day life like how to treat a mild fever, how to perform a normal calculation while buying an item from grocery store. He will not be able to make basic decisions. Without knowledge of culture he will not be able to know completely about his identity.

Secondly, common curriculum will encourage common evaluation procedure. Which means that there will not be any discrimination in judging the talent of students while selecting them for colleges. Generally selection of a student is based on the school marks. The common marking scheme will enable the judicious judgment of talent based on the marks. Had there been many curriculum, it will become hard for colleges to determine the benchmark for evaluating the appropriate talent. They will have to conduct separate entrance examinations which will add to the stress taken by students.

Although having a common curriculum has its merits, student might have interest in specific field e.g. a student might be interested in computer science or medicine. or sports or arts. For such kind of scenario, a flexibility of selecting courses should be provided. One should have a liberty in the selection among courses like between mathematics and arts in higher secondary classes because both are disjoint and student interested in arts might not need to get advanced knowledge about mathematics.

Clubbing all the points together, I can say that same national curriculum helps in the learning and development of students. This also supports common evaluation thereby obviating scope of discrimination. However student's interest is also important which should be given importance while selecting courses in the school.