A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The issue of what a countries should require students to study, in regard to curriculum, is an intricate one. While both sides have advantages and disadvantages, students should be mandated to study the same national curriculum until they enter college because it levels the playing field for all students. Furthermore, students will be better well-rounded people, and colleges will be able to prepare better for all students.

Students would benefit from having the same curriculum until preparatory, or college, because it allows all students to compete at the same level. When the national curriculum is the same for every student, the material being taught is similar in each state. For example, lets take the subject of math, specifically algebra. Students must learn how to solve basic algebraic equations. If students in Nevada are taught to only study geometry instead of algebra this would put them at a disadvantage from students in Michigan who are taught both algebra and geometry. This is detrimental to students in Nevada because upon applying to college they are already behind people who live somewhere like Michigan. This makes a gap in education that is hard to patch. Instead, if both students in Nevada and Michigan are taught to understand both subsections of math, the education gap is eliminated. Every student, regardless of their state of origin, should be taught the same material in schools to allow a fair, equal education system.

Similarly to creating an equal education level for each student, students should be required to learn the same materials because it creates a well-rounded adult in the future. Imagine a student, Mark, who has a particular liking for history. If there were not curriculum requirements, Mark would only choose classes that involve history. This causes Mark to lose aspects necessary for him succeed as an adult that would originally be instilled in him if there was a national curriculum. As a result, Mark becomes only educated in history and loses important aspects of other topics in education. Education should follow a national curriculum because it creates a well-rounded student that gets perpetuated into a well-rounded adult.

Finally, there should be a national curriculum because colleges must be able to anticipate what students to prepare for. Students already have to take a special test, the ACT, upon entering college. Colleges require students to take this test so that they can easily compare students with each other. If there was already a national curriculum implemented, students would not have to take standardized tests like the ACT in order for colleges to compare them to each other. Colleges would be able to look directly at their GPA and that would reflect how well the student mastered the curriculum. It would also allow colleges to be better prepared for what "type" of student to expect. Colleges would be able to know beforehand what the student knows and what the student does not know. A national curriculum should be implemented because it allows colleges to be better prepared for students knowledge levels.

In conclusion, students should be required to follow the same national curriculum in order to be placed in the same level across the boards. In addition, a national curriculum would create a well-rounded individual that colleges are better prepared for.