A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

A curriculum must be responsible for an individual's overall development, so that the society is benefited as a whole. The possibility of a national curriculum is intriguing, in the sense that it will be made taking into account the intellectual level of the common student.

All students are different; some may get excellent grades, some may excel in sports. Having only one curriculum does not ensure the holistic development of all students. For example, if the curriculum is study oriented, some students, say for example, the sportsmen may suffer. Parental or peer pressure can come into action and may have tragic consequences on students who cannot perform well in exams. On the other hand, students with high IQ levels may find the curriculum extremely boring because it was made keeping in mind the common student.

Besides there will be only one committee which decides the curriculum as opposed to multiple committees if there are multiple boards of education. It is possible that the curriculum-forming committee may get complacent. As opposed, if there are multiple boards, a healthy competition to be in the forefront of education can result in exemplary curriculum that can cater to needs of different students.

A national curriculum can have the advantage to bring the students to an equalised platform. It can provide a fair chance to everyone, to fulfill their dreams. It gives them a fair chance to enter any college of their choice. However it cannot guarantee admission to the college of their choice.

By having multiple curriculums which cater to the needs of different individuals we can ensure holistic, sound and overall development of an individual. Thus I feel that only a single nationalised curriculum cannot cater to the needs of different individualsand hence should not come into force .