The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The news channel has been recieving complaints regarding weather and local news. However the number of complaints is not specified. It is possible that the number of complaints are very small as compared to the number of viewers.The viewers that are interested in local news or weather may be very small.

Conversely it is also possible that the overall coverage of local news and weather was very bad in the past few days.This may be the main reason why the viewers were complaining and not because the weather or local news was inadequate.The viewers may also be sour as they might have skipped an important appointment because of an incorrect forecast of bad weather.

The late-news program mentioned informs the public about national news. The people may be unhappy because national news is not shown during prime-time, but late-night. These viewers who haven't complained might have started watching other channels which show national news during prime-time. They may constitute a large number of viewers who have stopped watching the channel.

Local business might not have been very financially stable. The television station must be charging heavily for advertising. Other stations may have provided lucrative offers to lure these business. It is possible that they ended up with better deals.

The television company may have had a rigid policy and lesser amount of advertising time on television.There might have been lots of paperwork involved for simple advertising purposes. The local businesses might have found it difficult to deal with all the complex technicalities of the station. This might have been another reason why they cancelled their contract. By ensuring easier formalities the contracts could have been sustained.