A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Since the time we have standardised our education system, simultaneously we have also been trying to perfect it to achieve our target of inculcating more and more people into this atmoshpere of learning and growing, so that they can become a functional and integral part of the society in the future. The first step that every nation took towards this endeavor was to introduce a standard academic curriculum which is usually unique for each country which was necessary for providing similar education to all without any general bias. But, in many countries (such as India), there are multiple educational boards having their own curriculum apart from the national curriculum. I do not agree with the recommendation to a certain reasons and will provide my reasons for it henceforth.

One of the benefit that the students in a country, such as mine where they have the multiple educational boards, is the option to elect an educational board according to the curriculum that they want to study. Each of the academic curriculums have its own unique way of making the students learn a topic from its fundamental to a more advanced basis. Therefore, the students have the choice to change their board if they are not comfortable with the one that they are currently enrolled in. This would not have been possible if there would only have been one national curriculum for all of its students.

Another benefit that the students of a country which allows its students to select a single curriculum from multiple ones is the varied form of topics that they can teach sometimes with more focus on non-STEM subjects. For example, some boards in my country and their academic curriculum focuses more on subjects such as humanities, arts or literature apart from the basic math and science courses. This provides a healthy learning enviornment to the students who are not adept in mathematics or science but want to, later in their future, opt for non-STEM fields such as journalism or a painter and to do that they will need to enter colleges which teaches them the subject that will help them in learning about such professions.

An argument can be made that this diverse number of curriculum each one of them focusing on different subjects may hamper the country's ability to formulate a standardised test which can help them in discerning capabilities of its students. I understand the concern that the argument raises but I still think it is more beneficial for a student's growth is to allow them to learn the subjects (i.e. the curriculum) that they prefer rather then forcing a single national curriculum onto them.

I do agree that providing the students of a country the option to elect from multiple academic curriculum will raise many problems for the education ministry of a country. But I also believe that requiring a single national curriculum for all of its students may become detrimental for a country in the long run. Life is all about the freedom of making our own choices, why don't we extend that same concept for the benefit of the students of a country.