The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Best WAY To teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones

Human beings, as an individual, are defined by their motives, their virtues and their action whether it be positive or negative. Similarly, the way we face the consequences of our action actually shows our maturity as well as our humanity. It is true that appreciation for positive actions that we take in in our daily life motivates us to be a better person but just as well, castigation that we endure when we take negative actions deter us from repeating those actions again. They are like yin and yang, simultaneously, shaping our character. Always considering one while ignoring the other may become detrimental for a person.

Take the example of any country that has been colonised in the past 500 years. It is true that colonisation have some positive effects on the country being colonised such as abolition of sati-pratha under British rule in which a widow was burnt along with her dead husband but does not mean that it does not bring with itself multitude of negative actions, such as mass genocide or oppression of native residents of that country, most of which always trumps the former. So, similarly, while teaching someone regarding anything should we only praise their positive actions while ignoring the negative ones? Our past history tells us we definitely should not.

A new born baby does not have the sense, as adults usually do, regarding what are moral values and how they should dictate our actions. Say, a child helped a fellow child when the latter was injured. Obviously a positive action and the child should be praised for it. Now the same child for the first time in life stole something. Should the child not be chastised for this deplorable behaviour just because of the positive action that we observed before? If we ignore such behaviour the child may think that is absolutely fine to do so which it is not.

Although an argument can be made that since human beings always behave best is when there is a reward in the end, therefore, the best way to educate them would be to ensure that they realize that their positive actions will be always be rewarded in the form praise or an actual award which in reality may or may not always be true. Yet, I will argue that on the other side of the spectrum human beings should also realize that their bad actions would cause them harm in some form whether it be castigation or punishment.

The recommendation does possess some merit. It is true that praising positive action while teaching will encourage us to always perform our best. But that does not necessarily imply that we will not balance the pros and cons of our action. If the end result of an action that we will take is that we will get a 100$ bill while on the other hand we can steal that same 100$ bill and in our whole life we have never been told that stealing is wrong, maybe we won’t actually take the positive route. Somehow we need to be taught that not only our action but their consequences also matter and the best way to do so is certainly not to ignore our negative actions while only praising the positive ones.