The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station."Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaint

The memorandum presented by the business manager of a television station states that since the station is losing its advertising revenue and its viewers due to the less time that they devote for weather and local news with respect to the national news during their late-night news program, they should restore the time devoted for the former to its previous level. There argument presented by the manager does seem sound but the memorandum is missing certain statistics and contains unstated assumptions which need to be evaluated before any decision regarding the issue can be taken.

The first part of the argument claims that they are receving complaints from viewers concerning their station's coverage of weather and local news which is directly resulting in loss in viewership at the local level but there is no direct correlation stated in the argument with the complaints and the loss sustained. Before taking any decision, the station needs to confirm that the complaints are actually resulting in lesser number of local people watching their late nights program. If they find that they are losing their local viewers, the argument raised in the memorandum remains validated.

Secondly, the longer time period that they have assigned for national news maybe attracting more viewers at the national level which might be equal or superceding the loss that they are sustaining in local viewership. In such a case, if the recommendation is followed, it would actually become counterproductive to the target that the memorandum is trying to achieve in terms of attracting more viewers to the program. Also, the station should verify that there is no other way to attract more local viewers than the one recommended by the business manager. If they do found some other away, again it would be more beneficial for them if they don't follow the manager's recommendation.

Furthermore, it is implied in the argument that the local businesses are cancelling their advertising contracts due to the fact that the station's late-night news program is losing local viewers but the memorandum has not provided any statistic substantiating that claim. It may be the case that they are losing contracts because the local business market is done. It may also be the case that the profit that they will make from contracts with advertisers on the national level may be more than enough to counteract the loss that they are incurring to due to the cancellation of advertising contracts from local businesses. If either of the cases is found to be true, it greatly weakens the argument. Otherwise, it would be better for the station to follow the recommedation stated in the memorandum.

I do agree that the memorandum does make many fair points. It may entirey be true that the loss they are incurring both in terms of advertising contracts and in local viewership may have been caused by the reduced time period devoted for weather and local news. But there are certain assumptions and unverified claims made in the recommendation that makes it less reliable and before taking any decision, it would be better for the studio to ponder more over the points stated above.