"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

The argument claims that in order to increase viewership of their program and also avoid losing advertising revenue, they should devote more time to their weather and local news coverage. This claim is based on a lot of assumptions and needs a lot of evidence and hence the argument is unconvincing and has a lot of flaws.

First, the argument states that most of the stations complains were related to the coverage of the weather and the local news. However, the complains have not been mentioned. For example, if the complains were for the local news not mentioning the correct facts, increasing the air time would further increase complains and deteriorate the image of the television station. We have no clear evidence that the complains wanted more air time or whether they were simply for any other reason like listing the mistakes in the coverage.

Second, the argument mentions no clear evidence that the companies are cancelling their contracts because of the low air time of weather or local news. Probably, the advertisers had other reasons for cancelling their contracts. What if there was some newer channel which were more profitable for the advertising companies or if they wanted to move on to some other form of advertizing and want to cut costs by giving up on television station. A lot of evidence is needed to firmly back the television station's claim.

Third, we have no concrete evidence that if we restore the weather and local channel the viewership of the channel would increase. For example, within the past year the country has started doing exceptionally well in sports. The viewers want to watch national news about how well their country's team is doing in competitions and not local and weather news, increasing air time for weather and local news would infact have a detrimental effect on the viewership. Hence we need more evidence about viewership tastes which can be found out by comprehensive surveys about the programs the target audience wants to watch.

Based on these reasons the argument falls short on a lot of issues and needs a lot of evidence to make up for it. Until more evidence is provided about the nature of complains, the reasons for companies to cancel advertising and the programs that the audience prefer watching, we can say the argument is clearly flawed and its claim is open to debate.