“Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot pe

The argument claims that since there is a small possibility that a person administered inoculations can die, the routine administration of these inoculations are not permitted. The following claim is based on a lot of specific evidence which needs to be evaluated before such a claim can be made.

First, we need concrete evidence that are there specific symptoms of cow flu which can be easily noticed or whether they need specific tests to aid the individual who can then seek help. If they can be easily be determined than the routine administration to all the people in the area can be minimised and so can the risk of death for people not affected by the cow flu. This can lead to the weakening of the argument. However, if it needs meticulous testing all people need to be checked and hence the death toll becomes a valid threat, which strengthens the argument.

Second, we need to look at the cause of the flu or whether it is communicable or not. If the cause of the disease can be eliminated or defined then the early quarantine of the area could be more easier as well as it will be helpful to only administer inoculations to people that are most likely to be affected and hence they can be monitored easily for any ill effect of these inoculations conversely to administering regular inoculations to a larger group. More evidence regarding the disease is needed.

Finally, there is no clear evidence regarding how small is the possibility of death by the administration of the inoculations. if the number of deaths is 1 in 100,000,000, then it may be a relatively small number but what if it is 2 deaths in 10 people who have been administered can be a fairly larger risk. Hence the vagueness of the word 'small' tends to weaken the assumption, more evidence needs to be specified regarding the death toll.

We need a lot of evidence regarding whether the disease can be successfully be identified based on the symptoms or whether the flu is communicable or not and can it be quarantined or whether the death toll of administering inoculations is as small as is being mentioned. Based on the lack of these necessary evidence it is not feasible to evaluate the claim made by the argument. Hence more, specific information is need to evaluate it better.