According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies act

The argument claims that it needs to allocate a greater share of its budget next year for advertising. The claim of the argument is based on the premise that the veiwership of Super Screen produced movies has decreased, even after positive feedback by critics for some of these movies. The argument beleives this trend is because of the lack of awareness among viwers. The recommendation of the argument is unsound and a lot of evidence is needed in order to evaluate the recommendation.

First, the author claims that fewer people have attended Super Screen produced movies. The claim is based on vague terms, we need more evidence to evaluate how fewer are the people. It could be possible that the dwindling numnbers have been reduced by a viewership of 10 people in comparison to a million viewers. The recommendation will not be reasonable as it would cost a company a lot of money to advertise just for a decrease of a minimal number of viewers.

Second, the author claims that the problem of a decrease in viewership is not because of the quality of his movies. The author clearly mentions not all but for a specific number of Super Screen movies the reviews have been positive. The use of vague language gives no concrete evidence on how many movies have received positive reviews. For instance, out of 50 movies only 3 movies have the percentage reviews actually increased. This is not a large enough number to determine that the viewership has not decreased because of poor quality of Super Screen produced movies. Hence, the recommendation would not be of any use.

Finally, even if the decrease was not based on the quality of the movies, no evidence about the percentage of increase in positive reviews being significant for the company to adhere to the recommendation have been provided. For example, probably the increase has been of a 1% or a 2%. These are not significant numbers on which such a recomendation can be built upon. Hence, increasing the advertising budget would do no good.

Based on these arguments the recommendation by the marketing team to increase the advertising budget has a lot of flaws and more information is needed for the recommendation to be reasonable. Until more evidence is provided, the recommendation is unsound and open to debate.