A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position

A country's growth is defined by the number and the quality of educated individuals it produces. Education is a very important part of human society that cannot be neglected. Schools play an important role in nurturing students to be better citizens as well as for the all round development of these students. Allowing the schools to have a national curriculum empowers students to have a comman fundamental foundation which can be built upon by their respective interests in the subjects.

If everyone is made to study the same national curriculum there wont be chances of students studying less than everyone else within the country. Everyone will be provided a base level of education. Students should have knowledge about every subject put up in the national curriculum. If students were asked to pursue only curriculum selectively tutored by different individual schools, they may develop a parochial view to things and their veiws would be restricted by the curriculum selected by their respective schools.

Schools if given the liberty could shape the curriculum based on their prejudices or opinions and hence limit the learning for the students. If a school decides the world wars were'nt important enough they could simply omit it from the curriculum. This can hamper student learning and to curb this a standardized curriculum is needed in schools.

The curriculum should be meticulously shaped by a board of trained proffessional teachers that have a lot of experience as well as necessary knowledge about what the children should know and what necessary skills they might need for mastering the particular subject. Student feedback should also have a voice in shaping the curriculum.

Having a national curriculum helps to create an unbiased education system that weighs every individual by the same weighing scale. Hence, I firmly believe that a national curriculum is a necessary part of education and so a nation should require all its students to study the national curriculum until they enter college.