A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer

A nation consists of a people and people are as varied as they are many. one person may have no trouble at all with a given curriculum, while another might struggle significantly. we see this in our current educational systems and even they are not so rigid as to impose exactly the same content on all its students. I feel that we should strive to have a curriculum that adapts itself to the individual rather than have the individual adapt to the system.

Firstly, I wish to reference my own experience as an educator. I teach coding and robotics to children, and the number one thing I keep in mind during lessons is to broadcast as little information to the group as a whole as I can. Instead, I rely on strong teachers being with me in the room and cultivating an environment where the children are fully open to learning because they have the autonomy to do so at their own pace. I have participated in workshops where this is not the method that is used and the childrens' attitude towards learning changes because they do not feel like they are being involved in the process, they feel like they are having something imposed on them.

this brings me to the idea that children need to have a sense of autonomy and freedom in the classroom. they need to be able to gain knowledge in whatever way is most suitable to their individual needs. if something is not working for a student, imposing the same structure of learning on them even after learning this is simply cruel. they will begin to feel inadequate as they are unable to keep up with their peers and they will lose their desire to continue learning.

that being said, not all people need to know the same things later on in their life. A baker has little use for calculus and a machine learning professor has no need to understand art history. we need people to fulfil different roles in our society and providing everyone with the same cookie-cutter education does not help us towards that goal. I question whether it is helpful to force an individual to learn something they have no desire to know. if they already hold a certain disdain towards a topic it is not likely that they would then choose a profession down the line that relies on it. should we not encourage a variety of skillsets by allowing students to partially or fully curate their curriculum, so that they are able to maximize the value of their education?

our culture and technology has evolved rapidly over the last few decades, resulting in vastly different requirements of our people than ever before. As a result, our educational systems must adapt. I hope that one day we can have a fully personalized curriculum for every student at every level of education, so that we can as a people fully realise our potential and stop collectively letting down large portions of our population with insufficiently engaging educational systems.