A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The idea of having a nation wide identical curriculum for all students may seem advantageous at first, but has a few flaws to it. I believe students should be given the freedom to chose their subjects at an early stage in life, so they can excel in fields of their interests.

Many students today are forced to study subjects which do not interest them. Many of our nation's youg minds are spending their valuable time studying subjects which they surely won't be pursuing a career in. One example of this is a student very much interested in physics who is cranking up his mind learning a subject like Biology which he knows for a fact that he won't be making a future of. A bright student who at a very young age is able to identify his/her interests should not be spending valuable time, money studyiing subjects that are of no interest to him/her.

In this day and age students are having pressure coping with many of their subjects. Some students fail to score grades on even those subjects which are interesting to them. These students perform miserabely particularly on subjects not of their interest. This leads to depressed young students, some of who may go on to commit suicide. Forcing a student to learn something he doen't want will always be harming the mental state of the student.

Due to the advent of technology, information is more easily avalable than ever. These young minds are exposed to the internet and the palothera of knowledge it has to offer at a very young age. They are quick to understand what they want to pursue in life and many of them want to start chasing their dreams at a young age. Supressing these talents by forcing them to learn things which don't benefit their career directly, does no good to the society.

While there are a few advantages of a unified ciricullum like, to make every student well rounded, taking away the freedom from the students to pursuing their own career path at a young age can be harmful to the students as well as society.