"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument is flawed for numerous reasons. Primilarly, the argument is based on the unwarranted assumption that the customers are complaining about the quantity of the local news and that viewership of the program has declined, rendering it's conclusion, to increase local coverage, invalid.

The argument assumes that the complaints recieved regarding local news is because of the reduced show-time allocated to it. The argument does not state what are the kinds of complains received. There is a possibility that customers are complaining because the program is broadcasting fake news or maybe because the host is not delivering the news properly or because of erronuous weather reports or any other reason. There is no evidence that the complaints are because of the limited time allocated to local news. Had the argument mentioned that these complaints were related to the quantity of local news then increasing the local news show time would make much more sense.

It is stated that there is loss of advertisement revenue due to the changes in the past year. There seems to be no good reason to believe that the lack of advertisements is related to the decrease in local news coverage. Local businesses may have stopped advertisements because it may not be profitable to them, maybe they realised advertising during a late night show is not sutiable for their target audience, maybe the local economy is down and the bussinesses have no money to spend on advertisements. There could be many more reasons for businesses to stop advertisements. The argument would have been strengthened had it mentioned these bussinesses were shifting to channels with higher local news coverage.

The argument does not provide numbers on the change of total viewership of the program. It just states that the program wants to attract more viewers. There is no data on the change in viewership of the channel yet the argument assumes the viewership declined.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions and lacks actual data, it fails to make a conving case to devoting more time to local news and weather.