A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

A common curriculum for all students in a nation has many advantages and disadvantages but the advantages do seem to be more prevalent. There are many countries around the world that follow a common national curriculum and there has been a positive impact of such a curriculum but it is important to remember that there are things about such a curriculum that could also have a negative impact on students.

A national curriculum offers all the students access to the same resources and helps even the plane for students who are socioeconomically disadvantaged. Many schools in socioeconomically disadvantaged areas have fewer funds as compared to schools in richer neighborhoods which limits their access to resources for the students. The limitation in resources can disadvantage the education of students and hold them back from achieving their full potential. The differing resources can also result in a difference in their curriculum which can impact a student's ability to get into a college. By creating a national curriculum, all students will receive the same level of education and will have an equitable start before they enter college. This would also increase the effectiveness of tests like the SAT and ACT as all students who take the test will have a similar background. This is substantiated by trends in other countries that have a national curriculum.

In India, where there are multiple national curriculums that all schools follow, having a common curriculum has provided the opportunity to provide a leveled education to all students regardless of their economic status. Having the same curriculum and the same books available for all students in the country provides the opportunity for people from different background to learn at an equal level. The positive impact of such a curriculum has been observed in the constantly decreasing gap between the performance of students from schools in different socioeconomic areas. In fact, students from villages where schools are not well funded have also received national recognition for their excellent performance in recent years and the national curriculum may have been a contributing factor to the drastic improvement.

Despite all the positives, there have been some negative effects observed due to the national curriculum. Having a national curriculum has the potential to turn the education system into a competition. When the entire country is learning the same material and taking the same tests, there is a potential for a competition which can become stressful for students. Although competition can improve the performance of students it can also create a stressful and hostile environment if given too much importance. It is important that the introduction of a national curriculum does not overvalue performance of students and demean students who do not meet the desired level as that can have a negative impact on the mental health of young adults. Although this is a drawback of having a national curriculum, a national curriculum offers all students equality of opportunity which is very important for all students.

By having a common curriculum across the nation for students before they attend college, it can be ensured they learn the same things and are more prepared for college. Not only can it improve the opportunities for students from low socioeconomic backgrounds, but it can also improve the level of preparedness of all students before they start college.