Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The news channel's increased coverage of national news seems to have taken time away from local news and weather and it is evident by the reaction of the viewers that they would prefer the coverage would focus more on the local news and weather. It also appears that local businesses are also displeased by the shifts in their canceling of the advertisement contracts. The success of the television station seems dependent on the demands of the audience and the advertisers. It is important to consider the facts that surround the changes in the program.

It is important to consider what other changes have been made in the program over the course of the year that could have impacted the advertisers. It is important to consider alternative reasons that may have affected their actions in addition to the change in coverage of the program. Although it is plausible the advertisers canceled their contracts due to the increased time devoted to national news, it is also possible that their actions were completely unrelated to it. It could be possible that other content of the program could be the reason for their actions. The time devoted to the different sections of the news may not play a role at all, it may have been completely dependent on the content of the news. Before making any changes, it may important to look at the change in content as well that the news channel can make a well-informed decision.

The viewers' responses suggest they are concerned with the station's coverage of local news and weather but it is unclear what their concern it. Similar to the argument about the advertisers, they too may be concerned about the content. Because of the same reason, it is important to look at all changes made in the late-night news program to fully understand the concern of the viewers. It is also important to consider that not all viewers would have the same opinion of the coverage and it is important to take that into consideration as well. Although the memorandum mentions that most of the complaints received from viewers were regarding the station's coverage of weather and local news, it does not necessarily suggest that all viewers have the same opinion. It is important to see how the change has affected viewership overall instead of just focusing on the complaints.

The suggestion of reverting to the former program seems like a valid decision but it might be premature if the other factors are not taken into consideration. It is important to look at viewers' responses as a whole and look at how that has changed over the course of the year along with the complaint. It would also be in the best interest of the station to look at the content of the program as well so they can explore and see whether that had an effect on the decisions of the advertisers and viewers. In order to retain viewers and avoid losing more advertisers, it is important to take all of these factors into consideration as well.