A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The premise of a national curriculum prior to college is a very popular and universally used practice in several nations across the globe. Ultimately, it has served the students well and has led to significant benefit to the nation's economy. However, I believe that with a national curriculum we have tipped the scales too strongly in one direction. As a society, we have gained the benefits of standardized testing which has allowed streamlined application and testing processes at the cost of the overall goal of education. Which are emotional and intellectual growth through understanding, application, and retention of several fields of study and fundamental theories, philosophies, and practices of existence.

In response to the response to the written statement, I propose that before college, the national curriculum within a nation should serve more as a guide and should avoid being rigid in its structure or application. Minimizing notions of what a student ought to do with the information they are learning with a larger emphasis on giving the student the tools to decide how best the information can lead to the most satisfying life possible. It is interesting to note that within the statement itself, there is a strong presupposition that the goal of pre-college education is to prepare a student for college and not to prepare the student to be a student of life.

I was born in Zimbabwe where I went to a boarding school before attending college at the University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign, where I graduated with a 3.7 GPA with a degree in Civil in Engineering. Within my home culture, there is a strong value for pursuing tertiary education, however, I would like to propose that it was not necessarily the classroom material that best prepared me for my college experience, rather it was how the classroom material was taught and the type of environments that were created and fostered inside and outside of the classroom. Firstly, as students, our first 2 years of high school, our classes were predetermined, but for years 3 to 6, we chose what classes we wanted to take. For the last 2 years of high school, there was an emphasis on selecting classes based on what you would like to do after school, accompanied with career guidance. While I chose to do Maths, Physics, and Chemistry with a desire to improve the standard of living by developing public infrastructure, this experience allowed some of my cohorts to pursue Art, Design and Technology, and Business Studies, giving them the tools to create their own businesses or enter trades after graduating. Secondly, was the quality of friendships that were fostered outside of the classroom. Since my school was a boarding school, we all lived together, ate together, studied together and played together. This allowed us to grow an understanding of very similar base values while learning from each other and developing a strong sense of interdependence.

In conclusion, I would like to propose that a nation should not look to simply implement a national curriculum for the purpose of college entry, rather, a nation should look to create a national curriculum that teaches students to discover their passions, grow intellectually and emotionally, be strong benefactors to society and learn to be students of life.