The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should, therefore, allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

To address Super Screen Movie Production Company's issue, I would ask the following questions:

Question 1 - By what percentage did the movie attendance drop this year in comparison to last year and earlier years?

If the answer to this question is that the percentage is significant and the production company have never experienced a decrease in attendance like this before, it would help support the argument that advertising needs to be increased. However, if the drop is not significant or out of the norm it could simply speak to a minor fluctuation from the public's movie-watching habits.

Question 2 - How does Super Screen Movie Production Company's movie attendance last year compare to other production companies in town and in the nation?

If the answer to this question is that only Super Screen Movie Production Company had a fall in movie attendance, it would help support the argument. However, if most production companies in town and/or in the nation experienced a fall in movie attendance, the fall could be caused by another economic or societal factor that does not require Super Screen Movie Production Company to change their advertising but perhaps to adjust how currently available resources are invested.

Question 3 - What movie genre was most viewed at Super Screen Movie Production Company and at other production companies in general?

The answer to this question could reveal a large disparity between certain movie genres and reveal the movie preferences of the public. This information could inform Super Screen Movie Production Company to focus more resources on developing and showing certain genres over others instead of increasing advertising.

Question 4 - From the review data, how many views and/or likes did the positive reviews get? How many views and/or likes did the negative reviews get?

The answer to these questions would verify the validity of the argument that the issue is a lack of awareness. The results could potentially point to the reviews not being a good measure to gauge the public's perception of Super Screen Movie Production Company. Alternatively, the results could reveal that the review platform being used is not an effective one to use or the presentation format or process to develop, comment and see a review needs revising.

Question 5 - What advertising platform are Super Screen Movie Production Company movies typically found on? What advertising platforms are most commonly being used by other production company's?

If the results from question 4 supported the argument presented, this information would help inform Super Screen Movie Production Company how to go about improving their advertising in a cost-effective and timely manner.