A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

This given issue has always been a debated one. What we teach our children in their early stages of growth is a very important part of their overall personality development. The academic curriculum must be both challenging as well as rewarding for the students, hopefully encouraging them to want to pursue higher studies.

To some extent, the issue can be agreed with. If the nation requires all the students to study the same national curriculum, it can control what kind of standard knowledge is being provided. It will ensure that all the citizens learn about the nation's history, their trading regulations, their main sources of income. It can set a national standard by this curriculum. Students will be able to learn everything about their country as a requirement, which may lead to increased nationalism. For example, if all the students are taught early on that their nation has agricultural importance in the world, they can use this knowldge in deciding future career paths. Thus, the nation will be able to impart important knowledge that their citizens must have.

Keeping the same standard curriculum also ensures that resources are not wasted in creating different curriculums for different parts of the nation. Creating new curriculums is a tough task, and it takes a lot of reasearch and time. In India, the curriculum in one state differs vastly from the curriculum of other states. Education Ministers have to spend a considerable amount of time and resources in upgrading these academics as well. If the nation has one standard curriculum, this work need not happen.

One more aspect that should be considered is that some students don't go to college. Whether it's because they cannot afford it, or they have financial duties at home, or they simply are not interested, college is not always a priority for all students. For these students, having received standard academic knowledge will be a boon, as it will be recognized that they have completed that level of education. For example, after completing school, a student can easily get a job as the companies will know the standard of education he or she has received. If the curriculum was not fixed, they might not be able to judge the abilities of the student as well. So, the national curriculum will only help them.

On the other hand, keeping the same national curriculum robs the students of the diversity of different regions inside that nation. Even inside one nation, there exists many states, each with its own diverse history and sometimes, language. We can consider a country like India, with a different language in every state. If a standard currciulum is adopted, all the languages cannot possibly be covered, and this will mean that students from different regions might not even get to learn about their own culture and diversity. This standardized curriculum proves to be a bane in this aspect.

Furthermore, we don't want our children to be mindless drones. They deserve the chance to select what subjects they wish to learn and what subjects they seem to have an affinity towards, especially from a young age. If they find a subject they are good at, they should be challenged in that field, otherwise they might find themselves lacking. If a student is not good at Biology, but is excellent at Physics, he desrves the chance to select a higher level of Physics classes, while pursuing the basic levels of Biology classes. This will only lead to the betterment of the student as he is being trained in that which he is good at.

After analyzing both sides of the issue, we can see that it can be highly debated as to whether the pros are worth the cons. The students will be able to survive on the national curriculum withut having to pursue college, but he or she might not be challenged at all in that curriculum. This might further lead to the student not being interested in college at all. Thus, I cannot say I fully agree with this issue, but if implemented, it will still prove to be a boon for the nation in many ways.