A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

The choice of curriculum desired for a nation must be clearly defined. Weather a curriculum should be uniform or not depends on a number of factors which must be considered carefully. For insatnce, a nation which has once experience civil war in her history must as a matter of nation building adopt a uniform curriculum in areas such as history and civil education. This is necessary to keep her citizen abreast of the difference in cultural beliefs and also to foster understanding. Also, a uniform curriculum in these subjects presents an opportunity to preserve the memoir of such civil war, enabling future generations to understand the pains that are associated with lack of tolerance.

A uniform curriculum is also desirable when students rarely offer some subjects. For instance, if univeristies in a country offer some courses and have people study and graduate from these courses. A lack of enrollment in such subjects at high school level may leave a number of graduates jobless as they are not able to apply for teaching positions due to the lack of interest and low turnout of students that enrol in these subjects at high school level. Since it is the responbililty of a responsbile government to provide job for her citizenry, adopting a uniform curriculum can increase the number of students enrolling in such neglected subjects since the subjects are avaible on the uniform curriculum and must be offered by all schools.

However, when time is a constriant, adopting a uniform curriculum may be disastrous. The fact that many students will enroll in subjects that are not revelent to their desired course of study at college level implies that students will spend more credit hours in classes they do not need. For instance, if the total credit hours required for graduation is 120 credit hours in a duration of 6 years of high school, translating to an average of 20 credit hours per year. If a compulsory but not necesssary subject takes 20 credit hour throughout the duration of high school, this implies that a student has wasted an academic year offering a subject that is not revelant to his or her career.

Conclusively, a unform curriculum may be desirable for nation building and job creation, the time wastage that come with such choice is detrimental to the time it takes a student to build a successful career.