A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

With the increasing popularity and advantages of technology, the use of technology has increased a lot since past few decades.The prompt believes that though mass media and internet has curtailed people's attention span, they have made people capable to sort through sea of information and find the pertinent one.I agree with the author that technology and mass media has increased filtration capacity and the effect of technology is positive but I don't agree that technology has reduced our attention span.

First of all,there is an immense amount of information out there because of the increasing adaption for internet and mass media.people are becoming more aware of the advantages it offers and use them quite heavily since past few decades.To get the relevant information through legion information is quite cumbersome if one does not aware of how to filter the germane ones within these information.As they say "necessity is the key of invention", it is needed for people to be able to gauge relevant information through these mediums to take advantage of it.For instance,

Secondly,This vast amount of information is not blindly reliable since anyone can add those information according to their knowledge.

For instance,In Wikipedia, one of the most popular website to get information, pages can be added and edited by anyone without any check or restrain. Thus all the information there on pages cannot be trusted entirely since it is subjective. if one does not have the eye to ponder on reliable and relevant information,they won't be able to take advantage of mediums like mass media and internet

On the other side,The attention span has been increased and not shorten since there are number of distractions to be overcome for a person to take benefits of internet and it requires high attention and discerning ability.

So I don't agree that enhanced capacity for discerning correct information has compensated for reduced attention span.attention span has not been decreased