Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Should nations indifferetly of any circumstances pass laws which help to preserve wilderness and nature? Should the nations instead focus more on economic gains and and ignore the devastation of the nature instead?

Debate about the preservance of the wild and natural areas of the countries due to their exploitation from the state ca be considered as one of the most important agendas of contemporary ecological movement. As far as this question gained sucha an importance during the last fifty years, it must have certain cause behind. Since the industrial revolution, we have put much more importance to economic growth. This obsesion had coused natural resoursed to exploit and nature to degrade. Air we breathe is full of pollution from factories and cars, the temperature has risen up substantialy, making it much more difficult to cope with our every day duties and water level of the oceans has risen to the level of endanger the coastal areas of the world. The most important way how to fight with these negative consequences of our ignorance during so many years are the laws, which are able to enforce the preservance of the forests, which contribute to creation of oxigen through the process of photosynthesis. Yes, it would be highly beneficial for all humankind to protect our nature and remaining wilderness and it should be even our duty.

However, as far as this policy could possibly have some negative consequencies in short run, and there might be people loosing their poteintial jobs in factories, which could not be built in order to prevent deforestation, the decision would be highly beneficial in the long run. Every action of ours have some externalities, the consequencies of our actions which cannot be seen immediately. When I drive my car, I do not see the negative impact of carbon dioxide, which is emited by the car, however the impact is there and our granchildren will have to cope with it. However, with ban to the cars, many people would lost the possibility to drive to work, what would not be beneficial in the short run. The same would happen with the factory, which can be built in the middle of Amazon. It can create 3000 additional jobs and increase the standards of substantial part of population, however, we would eventually have to cope with the negative impact of this decision in the fututre.

Strategy, which is worts mention, would be to conflate the economic growth with preservance of the wild areas. There are already many economists, as Jeffrey Sachs, who proposed strategies of sustainable development. We should evaluate how the economic development of certain type would affect our nature and try to bring both, the nature and the economy, into the harmony. There is nothing bad in building industry, unless the industry is not sustainable and have even negative impact on our nature. Such a strategy, however, needs to analyze each development impact on the nature and decide if the economic gain is worth taking.

Even if we have to defend our nature and wilderness, the answer on this question is not strictly positive. Every single case is worth analysis and we should not give up on economic growth in general, however, bringit to the harmony with nature.