Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Economic gain and environmental preservation have been long-standing dilemma that every government must have to deal with. Some countries like China, Indonesia make light of environment to focus on developing its economy while many other countries like US, Canada consider environment as their top priority. Although monetary acquisition is important, I do support the idea that natural preservation is more deserving than economic gain and the implementation of above policy is appropriate.

Respecting nature is long-term investment for human beings, not only for one current generation but also the future ones. It is no doubt about essential role of natural balance playing in human 's health. Forests are connoted with "green lungs" filtering out most air pollutants, taking CO2 and re-emits O for human consumption. Wilderness areas are natural guardians protecting the underground water and ground from running out or erosion by harsh rain and winds, respectively. Thus, protecting nature also means protecting the precious air we breathe, the fresh water we drink and the soil we live on, which ultimately make life easy and comfortable to live.

Natural balance is the basis requirement for a stable economy and politics. The role of nature in economic development of agricultural countries like Viet Nam, Thai, etc. is obvious to think about because having a poor crop or yielding more than usual largely determined by the weather and natural infection disease of farming species. In industrial countries, the importance of environment is not less essential - the heath of labor forces, the attractiveness to foreign investment and frequent or extent of damage of natural disasters like floods, landslides, etc. which cost many lives and potentially destroy all economic achievement so far of a society. For instance, China's severe air pollution is the source of public unrest and make china less attractive for long term investment.

The importance of environment on economy and politics is easily overlooked because of a lag phase from the damages caused by human to the apparent consequences of those actions but the impact of such consequences is extremely devastating, on large scale, long-term and it is difficult to restore nature to its original state once natural balance is disturbed. Therefore, the best way to avoid those devastating disasters is to prevent nature from being damaged in the first place, for example the implement of above policy in which any remaining wilderness areas are preserved in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

In conclusion, in order to achieve stable development of humanitarian factor, economy, politics, the wilderness areas must be respected and let in places. The potential price to pay for damaging nature is too huge for any nation to take risk while restoring nature to its original state still exceeds our power. The above policy should be implemented together with others to ensure the natural balance.