Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Nature has generously provided everything for the very existence of all types of living organisms in this world, including human beings. With ever growing of human population it became inevitable to occupy wilderness for various reasons. It could be for apartments, factories, playgrounds, etc., At present it is realized that most of the wilderness areas are already occupied by humans and therefore it becomes essential for Nations to have some strict laws concerning prudent usage and preservation of wilderness areas.

Undoubtedly, Wilderness areas will have variety of flora and fauna. For example, unexplored areas in Amazon forest is said to be only place where many rare species of birds, insects and animals are found in the whole world. One plausible reason could be because the forest gives perfect ambience for the dwelling of those wild animals. Furthermore, all the species plays a vital role in maintaining the biodiversity of life and also the food chain. For example, small insects are eaten by rodents, rodents are eaten by snake, and snakes are eaten by mongoose and vultures and the food cycle goes on. There it becomes essential to save this biodiversity.

Secondly, the important reason for preserving these wilderness should be preserving the fertile soil for agriculture at least in some parts of the country. A report says that it has become almost impossible to grow any vegetation without the use of inorganic manures and pesticides. This could be because of overuse of fertile land. Additionally, more fertile lands which were used for farming once has become into a multi- storey apartments with all latest amenities. This persuades us to save the wilderness areas for the future.

Deforestation has become inevitable, both for human occupancy and for the production of various wood products. Forests which were unexplored once have become a city and a famous tourist site now. Does this offer good to humans holistically? To answer this question, one can look none other than our climate and season patterns for the past few years. NASA report declares that the average temperature of our planet has increased by 2 degrees in the past twenty years and it also warns that it expected to increase more and thereby posits that the planet is awaited for dangers of Global warming. Based on the facts of altered monsoons, rainfall patterns and strange natural calamities , one could not deny the major role played by deforestation. Therefore, we are in a delicate position to preserve the wilderness for better climate and rainfall.

Although, one can argue that we can utilize the wilderness areas by starting factories, which can increase employment among people, the above examples overrules any benefits which we obtain by utilizing wilderness areas. This brings to my conclusion that strict laws are necessary to preserve the wilderness areas in their natural state.