Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

This topic raises the issue whether Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain. Indisputably any nation would want to progress and strenghten its economic position as well as undertake new tasks to add to its development. Nevertheless, in our haste of achieving greatness, we have turned a blind eye towards the natural ecosystem and it needs to be protected. Thus i would agree with the opinion that policies should be made by the nations to preserve wilderness even if it comes at the cost of losing out on economic gain.

First of all i would like to point out the huge impact a balanced ecosystem has on the planet. Everything that we eat, wear and consume comes from nature and wilderness. Nations have built themselves on the resources that was provided by the nature. Over exploitation of natural resources has lead to huge imbalance and as its consequece the weather patterns around the world have shifted,glaciers are melting faster, the global temperature has risen and many species of plants and animals have gone extinct. In these circumstances, obviously the nations have to create policies that aim at reducing the damage humans have done to the nature. To illustrate my point i would like to cite the Paris Accord where most of the developed nations that have a huge carbon footprint pledged to reduce their carbon emmissions alongside helping other developing nations to shift towards more sustainable production and manufacturing . Although this has been more economically draining for the developed countries, it has established a precedent for all the world that rescuring and preserving what we have is very important.

Admittedly economic gain ultimately adds to the development of the nation and it is true especially in the case of developing nation where each and every bit contributes towards the economy and welfare, however it is the moral and ethical obligation of humans to nuture for the environment. Implementing the policy will add to the rich bio diversity of the nation. In a country like india where forests are home to in numerable species of endangered plants and animals, a policy to preserve forests will ensure these animals and plants thrive. Apart from this, the menancing issue of poaching and smuggling of animal parts as well as trees will be curbed. Declaring a forest reserved area or constructing a policy that ensures a portion of the nation will be covered by forest is an excellent way of generating income for indegenous populations as well as an avenue for eco tourism. Taking all these factors into consideration having strong ploicies to preserve wilderness looks like a good move on the part of nations.

In conclusion although economic gains are important, they should not be the only factors in deciding for policies on preserving natural forests. The advantages of having a balanced ecosystem far outweigh the advantages of economic gain. We are looking out for future generations by setting up laws to ensure remaining wilderness thrives.