The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

The topic raises the issue that " The well being of society is enhanced when many of its people question authority".

Indisputably, the authority has the final word on the policies/administration or the functioning of the society. It is comprised of the representatives of the people and hence it is considered to work for the betterment of the society. Nevertheless it is not always the case. Absolute power corrupts the mind and hence people have the right to quesion to decisions and seek justifications for everything happening in the society.

First of all, the society is an amalgamation of people and cultures.For the welfare of the entire society, it has to be equally represented in the administrative and decision making bodies. When diverse people come together, their goals and agendas should align with that of societies'. People questioning authority, also question the underlying principal of the policies being formed/implemented. It ensured that all sections of the society are being included and as a whole the society is progressing. To illustrate this let me give you the example of pre independent india when feudal system was practiced. The village administrative bodies only had the landlords in power and this led to more reforms for landlords and the poorer sections of the society were ignored. This was put to an end when the people began to question the decisions of village administration and subsequently after a great struggle feudal system was abolished. This is an apt example to illustrate how people questioning authority can bring in change for the whole society .

Furthermore if we talk about the present scenario in the world, most nations in the world have a democratic or bi party system in which the ruling party is kept in check by the opposition. Those in favour of absolute power might argue that decision making prosess is delayed because of people questioning the authorit. For those i would like to point out that in the parliament most bills, rulings are passed after through cross questioning on the part of the opposition leaders. This gives way to constructive policy making process in which all scenarios are taken into consideration and justified. A lot good has come out of this. The right to Information act has made all the processes transparent and citizens can seek all the information they want. A lot cases of corruption and misadministration has come into light because of the right to information act. In the world forum the united nations, the constant questioning of human rights activists to the authorities about treatment of people caught in war zones esp Syria has led to many humanitarian efforts to better the living conditions of these people.

Admittedly the assumptions that have to be kept in mind is that the right kind of questions have to be asked to the right people. Education of the public on all matters of governance is the first step towards having a constructive policy making/implementing process. A society will not be able to thrive and prosper if the administartion is busy in answering trivial or irrelevant questions. I feel that if authorities are given the freedom to make policies but simultaneously kept in check by constructive criticism and questioning the process, the society will be benefitted the most

Hence although questioning authority seems like a tedious task that slows down the administration, it is necessary to keep the authority in check.As long as proper questions are asked and the objective behind these questions is not to hinder but aid the society, the well being of society will be maintained. In fact the authorities should make it easier for people to raise questions so that they can feel included in the society.