Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels.

In the above scenario the author recommends that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. it is further predicted that this will increase the business to previously high levels. Stated this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. Also, the recommendation has been hastily put forth and lacks through research. To justify the recommendation, the author concludes that increase in the presence of skateboarders has led to increased vandalism as well as public shunning the shopping plaza. However careful scrutiny will prove that there are several questions that need to be answered before any conclusions can be drawn.

First of all the argument readily assumes that the appearance of skateboarders has resulted in dwindling shoppers. this is a mere assumption made without a solid explanation. The argument would have been much more convincing if it was restated that decreasing crowds were making the plaza deserted enough for skateboarders to move freely. The capacity of shoppers to spend money because of slow economy may be one of the main reasons there is a downtrend in shopping. Other reasons such as the deteriorating quality of products in the shop or the opening of better stores in neighbourhood can also be one of the reasons shoppers don't prefer to go there. The next argument of increased vandalism has also been attributed to the presence of the skateboarders. This is a weak charge which completely ignores some of the key factors like the non presence of police or security in and around the plaza.Also the general maintainance is neglected in the plaza because of ignorance of the authorities and the shop owners.The author does not mention any strong reason to link skateboarders to vandalism or littering. The littering and vandalism could also have been caused by homeless people who come to the plaza to sleep at night because of no security personnel in the compound.

Also, the author notes that banning of skateboarding will curb all these issues and will increase the shoppers in the plaza. However this is a misguided conclusion. The author needs to answer the following questions. How will the shopping plaza be maintained ? Are the shops well stocked/ reasonably priced to attract potential buyers? Is the proper security for the shops and shopkeepers? Are the public amenities like washrooms and corridors clean and ready for use? if the author would have answered these questions convincingly and linked the skateboarders to all the problems , it would have been more convincing and believable.

In conclusion the authors recommendation has been based on weak evidence and reasoning. I would encourage the author to provide more exhaustive information about the present state of the shopping mall. The author should consider a wider set of scenarios to support his belief that increase in business will be achieved if skateboarding is banned.