No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field.

The author asserts that without outsider’s knowledge, any field of study cannot advance significantly. I, personally, agree with the speakers assertion. In this interconnected world, there are plethora of examples to support and cogently explain the speaker’s claim.

First, consider the advancement in the field of agriculture in last four or five decades. The advancements, such as farming without soil (also known as desert farming), cross breeding, green house farming for off-season production, and so on, would never posssible if chemist, genetic engineer, botanist did not bring their knowledge into the field of agriculture. Just knowledge of how to grow the better crops, how to protect the crops from insects and other harmful diseases, or how to nurture the crops was never enough for such a advancement in agriculture which we see today.

For more striking example, consider the field of engineering, especially a civil engineering. Before the invention of computer-aided simulation techniques to analyse the behavior of structures under intricate loading system, it was very hard for engineers to estimate the structural parameters so that the structure withstand the predicted load safely. The knowledge of software engineers, however, changed the entire faith of civil engineering. After the invention of computer-aided softwares, civil engineers can analys the most intricate structural design in a click on a computer keyboard. such a significant advancement in civil engineering has became only possible because outsiders, such as computer or software engineers, bring their knowledge in.

In sum, in this interconnected world each field of study is indirectly dependable to knowledge of outsider for significant advancement.