No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and

experience from outside that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting

your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true

and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Whether a field of study should incorporate knowledge or experience from outside of that field to advance significantly could be weighed in many aspects. However, the condition in every field of study is varied.

Admittedly, the speaker’s claim might appear to have considerable merits. Certain fields of study do require knowledge or experience from outside of that field to consummate the research or even to further dwell on. Take sabermetrics, or Moneyball as an example. As a derivative of statistics, sabermetrics requires not only cogent mathematical methods but also additional knowledge about baseball. Without the knowledge of baseball, the modeling in sabermetrics cannot be completed, let alone the further advance achievements.

However, the speaker fails to provide the litmus test for measuring “study”. When we speak of “study”, the following can be put forth: pure science, literature, social science, and applied science such as engineering. Obviously, pure science, as the name says, is science pursued without regard to possible applications, in this field of study, people only focus within the instead of outside the field. Take mathematics, a kind of pure science, as an example. Over the past thousand years, mathematics progressed from the most simple arithmetic to complex theories such as topology and algebra, but neither of these theories requires study other than mathematics itself.

Moreover, the speaker unfairly assumes that every field of study has its own unique characteristics. What if the study itself is already a hodgepodge of many fields of study? Data Science, a study that takes the world by storm recently, is blended with statistics, computer science, and even some degree of business. In this case, changing the weight of development in each category can easily yield new advancements, and thus the authors claim fails to hold.

In summary, this claim is not as persuasive as it stands. Although certain fields of study must incorporate additional knowledge to success or improve, not all studies are the same. According to my examples and expositions above, I hold the position that not all fields of study should incorporate knowledge or experience from outside of that field to advance significantly.