"Only once one has known real sadness can one feel true happiness."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Sadness, happiness, anger, resentment etc; are the various emotions a person goes through in his life, inevitably. A widely known fact, Life is a amalgamation of various emotions. I believe in the notion that the real happiness can be felt by a person who has been into hardships in his life,

To begin with, life always has counterparts to an action. One can appraise light only if he can observe the darkness. Similarly, a person can feel the coldness only if he or she has once been into hot conditions. The ebullience of a success can be savored only if there person has been through failures. For instance, consider the case of Thomas Alwa Edison who invented the electric bulb after thousands of attempts. The success did not come to him at the first place itself, rather he has been failing numerous times to invent the bulb. He was able to enjoy his innovation only because he knew the taste of a failure. Thus, if anyone wants the real success in life, there must be failures.

Secondly, consider the example of climates which change over time very frequently. After going through the summer climate, there will be winter or cold season. Thus, to acclimate to all the conditions people usually use Air conditioners during summer and heaters during winters. If a person living in the cold continent of Antarctica is brought to the hot, torrid and sultry environment in the Asian parts, he can enjoy the heat more compared to a person who has not accustomed to cold climate. Thus, in this case, the lack of heat has facilitated the person in colder regions to savor the heat.

In contrast, however there are certain instances where people find happiness through the sadness. In other terms, though sadness is certain, they do not consider it because they concentrate only on the result of happiness. To buttress the above statement, consider the example of a mother giving birth to a child. She goes through excruciating pain while delivering the baby, but that does not seem to her as a negative connotation or a sadness because every mother in the world goes through the hardship of bearing the pain just because she knew that a great moment is going to happen in her life. Thus, in this case, we cannot link the sadness to happiness.

To conclude, life of a person can be compared to roller caster where there are dips and highs. Only after going through declivity, a person can feel the inclination. Similarly, a person been through the hardships can enjoy the real success. However, there are certain instances where we welcome the sadness because of the fact that we are certain about our success.